Who Are We?

Chair of the Motutapu Restoration Trust - Brett Butland

Our charitable trust was established in February 1994.

We seek to generate and adminster funding to enable the restoration of this treasured island.


This includes seeking sponsorship, donations and grants from external sources, fundraising, Trust run events and subscriptions from the Friends of Motutapu.  

Our Trust Deed allows for 15 trustees.

Motutapu Restoration Trust Trustees 2014

  • Brett Butland, Chair
  • Hon Chris Fletcher, Founding Trustee
  • Rick Braddock, Deputy Chair
  • Roley Rackley, Chair of Finance Committee
  • Mary Flaws,
  • Dr Bruce Burns, Chair of the Natural Heritage Committee
  • Bridget Winstone, Volunteer Co-ordinator
  • John Eccleton
  • Iain MacKenzie - Chair of Tourism and Recreation Committee
  • Jane Moore
  • Alastair Bell Chair of the Engage Committee
  • Michael Fitchett
  • Jo Ritchie


Motutapu Foundation Trustees:

  • Rick Braddock, Chair
  • Belinda Vernon
  • Jane Moore


  • Dr Graeme Campbell
  • Alison Henry
  • Rob Fenwick
  • Alex Sie
  • Belinda Vernon
  • Russell Greenwood

Trust Administration:

  • Liz Brooks

Contact details: Liz Brooks

Postal Address: PO Box 99 827, Newmarket
Telephone: 09-445 9634
Mobile: 027-290 1610
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our above dedicated group of individuals are committed to restoring the cultural and natural landscapes of Motutapu. Restored island's habitats on the island are already enabling native wildlife, including endangered species, to thrive in our safe haven free from animal and plant pests. Alongside the ecological restoration, the island's rich archaeological and historic landscapes are being enhanced so that the stories of centuries of human occupation can be enjoyed by all.

Our activities include planting a native forest, restoring wetlands as well as historic site preservation, restoration and interpretation. The restoration programme, through hands on involvement, offers an excellent opportunity to convey primary conservation messages to our many volunteers who generously give of their time on the island.

Through its activities, the Trust provides opportunities to New Zealanders and overseas visitors for lifelong conservation learning.


E.A.Jim Holdaway (1918-2012) CNZM, OBE, DFC and BAR, our former
Deputy Chair, Founding Trustee and 'Father of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park' sadly passed away on 14 January 2012.

Peter Harrison (1934-2011) FormerTrustee and Chair of the Motutapu Foundation, passed away in 2011 and is sorely missed.